Media Release: Celebrating the Best of Saskatchewan Business – the 2021 ABEX Finalists Announced

September 1, 2021

Regina, SK – The Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce has been celebrating the achievements of Saskatchewan business with the ABEX Awards since 1984. As the largest and longest-running business awards program in the province, the ABEX Awards have proudly recognized and seen first-hand the innovation, resilience, and excellence of Saskatchewan businesses through both challenging and vibrant times.

The ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, will be celebrating Saskatchewan business excellence with a virtual awards gala that will be livestreamed at 7 p.m. on October 22.

ABEX applicants are independently judged by a group of business experts who review the quality of the application and supporting documents, including a Safety Plan. The Safety Plan is an important aspect of each application and the Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board is the Safety Partner for the ABEX Awards.

“The business community in this province is proving their resilience in what are still challenging times and we are thrilled to celebrate the success of these amazing people and companies. We need to support all and celebrate those who have found success in their respective sectors,” said Steve McLellan, CEO of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.

Award Categories:

In the Community Involvement Award category, sponsored by Grant Thornton LLP, the finalists are Avana (Regina), Fitness 2J2 (Saskatoon), MNP (Saskatoon), Prairie Sky Recovery Centre (Wilkie) and Viterra (Regina).

In the Growth and Expansion Award category, sponsored by PFM Capital Inc., the finalists are 9 Mile Legacy Brewing (Saskatoon), Avana (Regina) and North Country Massage & Medi Spa (Prince Albert).

In the Innovation Award category, sponsored by Saskatchewan Polytechnic, the finalists are Brew Ninja (Regina), FarmSimple (Vibank) and Greenwave Innovations (Regina).

In the Marketing Award category, sponsored by Xplornet Enterprise Solutions, the finalists are Belong Lifestyle (Saskatoon), Curbie Cars (Saskatoon) and Dandy’s Artisan Ice Cream (Regina).

In the New Venture Award category, sponsored by the Saskatchewan Ministry of Trade and Export Development, the finalists are Brew Ninja (Regina), Curbie Cars (Saskatoon) and Limitless Gear Clothing (Prince Albert).

In the Service Award category, sponsored by CN, the finalists are Clarity Coaching & Development (Saskatoon/Regina), TEAM IRON elles Personal Training (Martensville) and Concept 3 Business Interiors (Saskatoon/Regina).

In the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award category, sponsored by Cameco, the finalists are Amy Bertram (Dancer’s Edge, Warman), Cody Demerais (Limitless Gear Clothing, Prince Albert) and Daniela Mintenko (Dandy’s Artisan Ice Cream, Regina).

The Priority Focus Award, sponsored by Nutrien, is presented to a business that has gone above and beyond in demonstrating business excellence in an area that is in line with a select Saskatchewan Chamber policy priority. This year the focus is on digital integration. The finalists are Blue Moose Media (Saskatoon), Triple A Directional Drilling (Yorkton) and Vendasta (Saskatoon).

Six additional awards will be awarded at the upcoming ABEX gala.

  • The Business Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by the University of Regina, will be presented to Murad Al-Katib (AGT Food and Ingredients, Regina)
  • The Community Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by SaskEnergy, will be presented to Pamela Klein (Phoenix Group, Regina)
  • The Saskatchewan Business Hall of Fame will induct Novlan Bros Sales (Paradise Hill)
  • The Roger Phillips Chamber Builder Award, which will be presented to Rob Clark (Moose Jaw & District Chamber of Commerce)
  • STEP 25th Anniversary Export Award, sponsored by Saskatchewan Trade & Export Partnership (STEP), will be presented to XPT Grain Inc. (Regina)

The ABEX Business of the Year, sponsored by David Aplin Group, will be announced during the ABEX livestream on October 22.

The ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, is a celebration of the success of Saskatchewan businesses. Registration for the free virtual event is required and available online at


The Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce serves as the voice of business and represents the interests of over 10,000 individual businesses, industry associations, and local chambers across the province through its chamber network. Learn more about the 2021 ABEX Awards by visiting or @SaskChamber on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.

Steve McLellan
Chief Executive Officer
O- 306-781-3122
C- 306-533-7686